Home > General > GOD’S MERCY: Jonah’s Repentance and God’s Grace

GOD’S MERCY: Jonah’s Repentance and God’s Grace

November 12, 2011

THE EVANGELICAL CHURCH WINNING ALL
(ECWA)
5007 SOUTHSIDE DRIVE
LOUISVILLE, KY 40214
(502) 375-1904
www.ecwalouisville.org, www.ecwausa.org,
ecwaky@gmail.com
TEXT:  Jonah 1: 17-2: 1-10
BY
Rev. (Dr.) S. K. Awoniyi

INTRODUCTION

      The primary purpose of the book of Jonah is a reflection on the compassionate character of our Almighty Father.  We need to understand that Prophet Jonah’s prayer in the belly of the Fish was a prayer of acknowledgement of God’s sovereignty, a final surrender of God’s plan, and the prayer of faith for deliverance.  The Lord called Prophet Jonah, the first foreign missionary, when Israel was severely harassed by the pagan Assyrian’s chief city, Nineveh.  He was to preach against the city’s wickedness and call them to repentance. However, the fact that God offered the city the opportunity to repent of their wickedness made Jonah mad.  In today’s lesson we will deliberate on Jonah’s repentance and God’s grace.  

Jonah’s Prayer (Jonah 1:17, 2:1-2)

Now the LORD provided a huge fish to swallow Jonah, and Jonah was in the belly of the fish three days and three nights. From inside the fish Jonah prayed to the LORD his God.  He said: “In my distress I called to the LORD, and he answered me. From deep in the realm of the dead I called for help, and you listened to my cry (Jonah 1:17, 2:1-2).

Prophet Jonah said he called to the Lord in is distress and the Lord answered him.  The question is what is distress?  Distress could be defined from various categories.  Such as:

    1. Intentional infliction of emotional distress, 2. False imprisonment, 3. Conduct that threatens your physical security, 4. Unpleasant feelings that causes problems for you, 5. Cancer that makes it harder to deal with all the changes in your life. Other interpretations of distress can be narrated thus:  Sadness, helplessness, Powerless, Afraid, Guilty, Anxious panic, and Discouragement.

When Prophet Jonah went through this type of emotional distress what did he do?  The Scripture says he called on the Lord.  That is, he prayed inside the fish.  When Jonah prayed inside the belly of a fish and the Lord heard him it means God is present everywhere.  As a Christian when you are going through this type of emotional distress what should you do?  The Scripture says:

Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? 8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there. 9 If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, 10 even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast. 11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become night around me,” 12 even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to you (Psalm 139: 7-12).

Some people think their sorrow is too great that they do not need to put it before God.  Or rather, they have been abandoned by the Almighty God and solution to their problems must come from a diviner or a magician.  No, that isn’t true.  The only person who can sympathize for us and stand in the gap is our Lord Jesus Christ not a diviner or a magician.

Jonah’s Praise (Psalm 30:1-4)

Prophet Jonah’s prayer in the belly of the fish can also be viewed as a declarative Psalm of praise.  The Scripture says,

I will exalt you, LORD, for you lifted me out of the depths and did not let my enemies gloat over me. 2 LORD my God, I called to you for help, and you healed me. 3 You, LORD, brought me up from the realm of the dead; you spared me from going down to the pit. 4 Sing the praises of the LORD, you his faithful people; praise his holy name (Psalm 30:1-4).

I love you, LORD, my strength. 2 The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer;
my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. 3 I called to the LORD, who is worthy of praise, and I have been saved from my enemies. 4 The cords of death entangled me; the torrents of destruction overwhelmed me (Psalm 18:1-4).

I will extol the LORD at all times; his praise will always be on my lips. 2 I will glory in the LORD; let the afflicted hear and rejoice. 3 Glorify the LORD with me; let us exalt his name together. 4 I sought the LORD, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears.
5 Those who look to him are radiant; their faces are never covered with shame (Ps. 34:1-5.

CONCLUSION

      Brethren, have you ever gone through emotional distress?  If yes, what did you do then? Or, are you going through emotional distress now? If yes, what do you think you should do? Being a Christian does not mean you are free from sorrow, depression, sadness, discouragement, or distress.  I wish you learn a good lesson from Prophet Jonah what he did while going distress.  The Scripture says:

Now the LORD provided a huge fish to swallow Jonah, and Jonah was in the belly of the fish three days and three nights. From inside the fish Jonah prayed to the LORD his GodHe said: “In my distress I called to the LORD, and he answered me. From deep in the realm of the dead I called for help, and you listened to my cry (Jonah 1:17, 2:1-2).

Diligently, faithfully, honestly, and obediently wait on the Lord and you will laugh at the storm.  Read the following passages also: Psalm 40:1-12; 52; 66: 13-20; 116; 118.

Categories: General